Home > Rider Of The Week > RIDER OF THE WEEK – STIJN VANDENBERGH

RIDER OF THE WEEK – STIJN VANDENBERGH

01/06/2010

The 26 year old was born in Oudenaarde, the centre of the Flemish Ardennes, and at 1.99m he is one of the tallest riders of the peloton. He started his pro career with the protour team Unibet in 2007, was offered a contract with AG2R-La Mondiale in 2008 and after a year in the French team he moved to Katusha and has been there since 2009.

-What got you interested in cycling and when did you start?

I started cycling when I was 12 years old, but I started competing when I was 17 years old. I turned pro in 2007. One of the things I like about being a cyclist is that I get to travel and see a lot of nice countries, like Australia and Malaysia.

-What have you sacrificed for cycling?

I have to go to bed early and I don’t get to go to many parties with friends.
-What is your biggest achievement so far?

Starting in the Tour de France and being able to finish it in a way I’m happy with.
-Do you look up to anyone? Who, why?

Cadel Evans because I think he lives 100% for his job and think he does it clean.
-What would a perfect 2010 season be for you?

Just one victory in a race. I also want to start the Tour de France again and I want to do a good job for my team mates, and I also want to be selected for the WC in Australia.
-What 3 things make you proud to be a cyclist?

Starting the big races, ‘monuments’ like the Tour de France, Paris – Roubaix and Ronde van Vlaanderen.

–  Which race would you most like to win in your career?

Ronde van Vlaanderen

–   How do you relax after a particularly hard race?

With some good party music

–   What’s your favourite race of the season?

Paris-Roubaix

–   If you could have a super-power in one race, what race would it be and why?

In Tour of Flandres or Paris – Roubaix, but also the Belgian championcips, then I can show the belgian tricoloré for one year !

-Why do you think it is so important for children to have the opportunity to participate in sport and play?
It’s important for the health of the child and to build character that you can also use later in life.

